The Coveteur’s Oroton: Designer Rachel Roy

Rachel Roy the coveteur 3Designer Rachel Roy’s home was a cabinet of curiosities: A vintage scalloped-edged screen in the softest of greens, a meticulously organized collection of National Geographic’s (some dating back to the 1930’s) and a host of Indian deities and dream catchers that turned up in the most unlikeliest of places.

It was these treasures that greeted us when we arrived at Roy’s home (along with her beyond cute puppy).

While Roy may live among the clouds with her two daughters in tow, her home and style is heavily rooted in historic reminders, which keep her grounded.

Her collection of colorful Indian saris, National Geographic’s (“it started with my family’s love of collecting them, my grandfather used to receive them in his State Department office”) are faithful symbols of her past. And though her Manolo collection could easily rival that of Carrie Bradshaw’s, Roy’s quick to credit her humble beginnings.

“Manolo’s were my first pair of designer shoes,” she told us. “I used to save up and wait until they went on sale. I would make friends with all the sales people and they would call and let me know when a sale broke. They were one of my favorite investment pieces and still are to this day.”

From every cataloged art tome that Roy uses as inspiration and research to the cherished pieces found in her jewelry box – each item tells a story of Roy’s past, present and future.

“The pieces I choose always have a deeper meaning and story behind them. My collaboration with Deepak Chopra really reflects that: we did a sword body chain that has ‘Keep the Stillness Inside of You’ engraved on it and when I wear it, it reminds me to just that.”

With a killer soundtrack playing in the background – Rhianna Radio, F.Y.I. – Roy took centre stage, captivating us all with her effortless glow and presence, while Jake snapped away feverishly.

My collaboration with Deepak Chopra really reflects that: we did a sword body chain that has “Keep the Stillness Inside of You” engraved on it and when I wear it, it reminds me to just that. 

“I think I got it,” he said… just minutes later. This clearly wasn’t her (or his!) first rodeo.

I’m not a huge diamond girl; I like edgy statement pieces with interesting materials. Some of my favorites pieces are by strong women who I admire for not only their designs but also how they live and incorporate their lives in their work.

Jacquie Aiche, Jennifer Fisher, Jennifer Meyer and Manon Von Gerkan are some of my favorites. The pieces I choose always have a deeper meaning and story behind them.Rachel Roy the coveteur 2Pants, The Row; Blouse, PucciRachel Roy the coveteur 3Butter LONDON makes amazing polish and is one of my favorite lines. We just finished collaborating on a custom color for my F/W 2013 show. I’m lucky to count Suzy Biszantz [La Perla’s CEO] as one of my close, super smart girlfriends.

It’s really only brand I wear because they use the best lace, are constructed so beautifully and just fit so well. – Lingerie, LaPerlaRachel Roy the coveteur 4I took this dress to Italy with me this summer and wore it to lunch in Capri and I know that when I wear it again this summer I’ll feel like I’m back there.

My life is so full with work and the girls and I love it that way. When I design, I want to make women feel smart, confident and sexy. Rachel Roy the coveteur 5Bags, Left to Right: CHANEL, Hermès, AlaïaRachel Roy the coveteur 6These are a few things that make me happy. The perfumes bottles were my great grandmother’s from Holland, the jeweled box is really a pendant with an Indian deity on it that symbolizes good luck and a doll I bought in India that wards off bad dreams –all in a Hermès ashtray. – Ashtray, HermèsRachel Roy the coveteur 7Pants, The Row; Blouse, Pucci sitting on green stoolRachel Roy the coveteur 8I love how Missoni celebrates color and print together. Margherita [Missoni] is a friend that introduced me to a philanthropic program in Ghana called OrphanAid Africa that helps keep families together and cares for orphans. – Jacket, MissoniRachel Roy the coveteur 9Travel Organizer, BalenciagaRachel Roy the coveteur 10Vogue magazinesRachel Roy the coveteur 11Though we live in an increasingly digital world, I still print photographs that are special to me and keep them in this Hermès photo album. – Photo Album, HermèsRachel Roy the coveteur 12Rachel is an avid lover of booksRachel Roy the coveteur 13Pants, The Row; Blouse, Pucci Rachel Roy the coveteur 14Indian goddess Kali photoRachel Roy the coveteur 15I got this vintage lace robe from Golyester, a vintage store in Beverly Hills that specializes in vintage from the 1910s to 1960s. They keep the delicate pieces in a special room and I always find something I love there. – Robe, VintageRachel Roy the coveteur 16I am a great lover of books, and art books in particular. I collect art books for inspiration and research. Reading is one of my favorite downtime activities. I really believe art should be what makes you happy, not what others think is important.

Books that give me a glimpse into what the artist is feeling or thinking when they are creating are my favorites. – Shoes, Manolo BlahnikRachel Roy the coveteur 17I like any book that you can take away a lesson or something that you can act on in a positive way. Books that give me a glimpse into what the artist is feeling or thinking when they are creating are my favorites.

The sword is a symbol Deepak and I used in our collection. It’s symbolizes strength but the chain is delicate and the inscription on it “Keep The Stillness Inside of You” is so calming. – Sword Necklace, Deepak Chopra x Rachel RoyRachel Roy the coveteur 18Bobbi [Brown] and I have been working together for years. How she approaches beauty very much starts from the inside out and I find that empowering for every woman. My National Geographic collection started with my family’s love of collecting them.

The issues that are most special to me were from the 1930s. My grandfather used to receive them in his State Department office so each one has the State Department stamp. – Clutch, Nancy Gonzalez; Cuffs, OfriaRachel Roy the coveteur 19This Roger Vivier clutch is very special; it was given to me as a gift from the Vivier House when I attended the MET. I wanted something colorful to go with the yellow gown I was wearing so I chose this clutch and a pair of white Vivier heels.

I felt modern and comfortable. The pillows I create by taking vintage Hermès scarves and having them made into pillow fronts. I mix the Hermès pillows with ones I find on One Kings Lane. I’m a bit addicted to OKL. – Clutch, Roger VivierRachel Roy the coveteur 20Manolo’s were my first pair of designer shoes. I used to save up and wait until they went on sale. I would make friends with all the sales people and they would call and let me know when a sale broke. They were one of my favorite investment pieces and still are to this day. – Shoes, Manolo BlahnikRachel Roy the coveteur 21Pants, The Row; Blouse, Pucci – hands clappingRachel Roy the coveteur 22I love the color and the beading of this sari. – Sari, VintageRachel Roy the coveteur 23

First published in The Coveteur

6 thoughts on “The Coveteur’s Oroton: Designer Rachel Roy

Have a comment? Enter it here...