Multiracial Parenting Advice: I need help finding hair products for my multiracial Hair!

multiracial children

Image via Corbis

Hey, I’m a 17 year-old girl of mixed race African-American, Caucasian, and a quarter Puerto Rican ancestry.

As proud as I am of my mixed race ancestry, I constantly struggle with finding hair products. My hair is chemical-free and I would like to keep it that way but, I can’t find products that work for my type of hair, this is becoming so frustrating for me.

Can you please recommend some products that work well for mixed race hair? Thank you.

Mixed Chicks Product Line

Mixed Chicks Product Line

Hi there,

Thanks for contacting us. I can understand your frustration as the hair industry predominantly caters to black and Caucasian hair neglecting millions of men and women who fall in-between.

There are a handful of companies who specialize and focus on multiracial haircare, however one company that stands out is Mixed ChicksAlthough this is not a paid endorsement of the company, I highly recommend this company. The founders themselves are of multiracial background and understand the gap that exists in regards to products for multiracial hair.

Check out their website which also includes great reviews from users of their products, who are also of mixed race ancestry like yourself. In addition, we published an article on multiracial hair a few months ago I recommend you check out, it will provide information on caring for your hair, etc.

The following companies are leaders in multiracial hair care:

Good Luck!

P.S. XXXX used the Contact Us form to ask her question. You can too should you need multiracial parenting or general multiracial advice.

 

6 thoughts on “Multiracial Parenting Advice: I need help finding hair products for my multiracial Hair!

  1. I could do a free commercial for mixed chicks all day. I use their products on my kids’ hair. I have been using it for about 3-4 years now. My biracial children all have different hair as different as their complexion. One has straight hair almost like mine and I’m white and the other two have curly hair with one being very thick curls and the other light. I recommend it.

    • That’s great. Wow interesting how different your children’s hair is. My sister and I also look different. My sister looks almost white and I’m more caramel complexion. But funny enough my sister is the one with curly hair while mine is more straight. I use mixed chicks products in the winter when the weather gets harsh. I can get by with Garnier Fructis products during the summer.

  2. Pingback: Biracial Babe

Have a comment? Enter it here...

