Interracial Relationship Advice: My Husband Never Helps With Household Chores. I Want A Divorce…

Credit: SYM

Hi,

I’m at the verge of getting a divorce. My husband who is from Ghana and I have been married for 2 years and he’s wonderful except that he doesn’t do any household chores. He never helps around the house, won’t cook, clean, etc.

I have tried talking to him and complaining about it but he says that’s not a man’s job. In 2012, it’s a man’s job to do whatever is necessary for his family. I understand our cultures are different as I’m an American (white woman) but I can’t continue like this.

 What advice can you offer me?

Hi XXXXX,

I’m sorry to hear your husband is not helping you around the house. The African culture, trains men to view themselves superior to women, thereby creating the illusion that it’s a woman’s job to take care of the kids, keep the house, cook and clean. Unfortunately in the Western society that is an unacceptable mindset. I think your husband is still struggling with adapting to his new culture.

Here are one option for you to avoid divorce, especially since everything else is going on well, contact a cleaning service to come in a few time a week and make sure your husband pays. Let him know this is the only option available to avoid divorce and if he truly values his marriage and loves you, he’ll won’t object.

It will probably set him back $600 a month but it will be well worth it. Unfortunately, that still leaves you to do the cooking.

Good luck!

P.S. XXXXX used the Contact Us form. You can too should you need interracial relationship advice.

 

9 thoughts on “Interracial Relationship Advice: My Husband Never Helps With Household Chores. I Want A Divorce…

  1. Most men hate doing chores around the house unless it’s fixing things. If they can cook they usually help with that. I guess the cultural differences isn’t helping much but don’t divorce him because of that. I think the advice offered here is actually good and should help.

  2. I remember when I was growing up my parents used to argue about things like this but they stayed together and worked it out. Unless you don’t love him anymore I don’t suggest you divorce him. I guess it’s tough in 2012 to hear that only women are supposed to clean but it’s a cultural thing. Makes me appreciate the American culture. Women and men are equals well except where GOP is concerned.

  3. This is tough. I’ve heard stories of how women are subjected in Africa but I didn’t think it was this bad. He’s in America now and needs to adapt to our culture. Things don’t work like that around here. I hope you guys work it out. It would be a shame for him to lose you over this foolishness.

  4. So in African men just sit around while women do all the work? What kind of life is that? That is so 1300. He better get his act together! That type of behavior and mindset is unacceptable here in the U.S of A.

  5. Hiring a maid would solve this problem. If he feels too superior to help with household chores he should at least feel superior enough to cough up money for a cleaning service.

  6. Pingback: Relationship Advice and Guidelines | A Dating Dogs Blog

  7. Pingback: The Role Culture Plays In Multicultural/Interracial Relationships: Asia | KolorBlind Mag

  8. Pingback: The Role Culture Plays In Multicultural/Interracial Relationships: Africa | KolorBlind Mag

Have a comment? Enter it here...

