Music Spotlight: Emelie Sandé

Meet Adele Emeli Sandé popularly known as Emeli Sandé. If you do not know who Emeli is, it’s understandable. She has not reached the level of mainstream stardom the music industry generally gravitates to, however, her talents surpasses those of a large majority of those considered ‘superstars’.

Sandé is of those artist’ I like to put in a category called Global Music or if you will KolorBlind music. This is a music genre that speaks and appeals to all races and ethnic groups and covers a wide range of age groups. Who is this beautiful and talented singer you ask?

Adele Emeli Sandé is a 25 year old biracial Scottish recording artist and songwriter. She was born to a Zambian father and English mother (Scottish).

Her musical talents are so vast that you can’t put a label of ‘r&b, ‘pop’ or the like on it. This multi-faceted became known to the public eye after she was featured on the song “Diamond Rings by rapper Chipmunk. The single soared to the first top 10 on the UK Singles chart and had talent scouts wondering who she was. In 2010, she featured again on a song with rapper Wiley on “Never Be Your Woman’ and it became another top ten hit. By this time she had caught the attention of Simon Cowell, talent producer and host of talent scouting shows such as X-Factor, UK/US, American Idol and the like. The infamous talent producer named her his ‘favorite songwriter of the minute’.

Not only are her vocal chords to be admired, this young woman has written songs for a number of well-known artist’ such as Cher Lloyd, Parade, Leona Lewis, Cheryl Cole, Tinie Tempah and more.

In an industry with so many competitors, to write songs for other artist’ and see those songs reach peak numbers on music charts is a talent worth commending. Her song-writing talents soon caught the attention of EMI Music Publishing who signed a publishing deal with her in 2010. She later announced she was signed to Virgin Records as a recording artist.

Sandé released her first solo single “Heaven” in August 2011 under Virgin Records and I can say that this single is on of my favorite songs. The young and multi-talented Sandé has had two number-one singles across the United Kingdom and Ireland with “Read All About It” with Professor Green and “Next to Me”.

Her albumOur Version of Events peaked at number one in the UK, soon after its release in February 2012 .  Sandé was one of the performing artist at the 2012 Olympics Opening and Closing ceremony. Her performance was touching and perfect for such an event.

How did this young woman learn all she knows or where did her talents come from? How did she get a start in the music industry, you’re asking?

emeli sande 4 UK Charts: Emeli Sande Hits #1; Sells Over 100kThe beautiful Sandé was born in Scotland to a teacher who taught her the importance of education, perserverance, patient and determination. She attended the same secondary school (high school) her father taught in and says:

“Education was the most important thing to me and if my music career failed, I still have my education to fall back on. I wrote my first song at age 11 when I was still in primary school”.

“That was the first time I thought I might be a songwriter. I always knew I wanted to be a musician and I knew I wanted to write because the people I was listening to all wrote. I never thought it was an option to sing anyone else’s songs.  The first song I wrote was called “Tomorrow Starts Again”. It’s noted that the song has proper structure.

“I hated to be ill and to miss a day of school because I was so hungry to learn. I was very shy, nerdy and extremely well-behaved. Inevitably, throughout secondary school, it was part and parcel of my identity that I was Mr Sandé’s daughter. No way could I muck about or get into trouble, because it would’ve got back to him within minutes. And Dad was strict, let me tell you.”

At the age of 16, she had people fighting for her attention to come join the music business, but she recounts how she told her manager Adrian Sykes to wait until she finished school.

To show how dedicated she was to education, she studied Medicine at the University of Glasgow. She stopped in the fourth year to concentrate on music. She is not only beautiful, but smart, talented and multifaceted. The kind of woman every little girl ought to admire and look up to. It wasn’t until she was 15 when she started entering in talent shows that furthered propelled her entry into the music business.

How did she get her first real recognition in the music business?

Sandé’s sister made a video of her playing the piano and singing to one of her favourite songs, “Nasty Little Lady”. They sent the clip to Trevor Nelson’s BBC Urban music competition. Sandé won the show and was offered a record deal, but the management that she met via the competition decided against the deal.

Her parents later sent BBC Radio 1Xtra a CD of her songs and Ras Kwame played on his “Homegrown Sessions”, and four artists that year were asked to do a show in Soho. She met with Watford-born music producer/writer Shahid Khan aka Naughty Boy, who has previously worked with Ms Dynamite and Bashy, and they began writing tracks for artists such as Cheryl Cole, and Tinie Tempah.

It wasn’t until her record deal with Virgin Records however, that she became introduced officially to the world. In an interview, she said:

“I was doing a show in London for 1Xtra and I met this guy called Naughty Boy. We got in the studio and we clicked work-wise. We just started writing, not necessarily for me, we just thought ‘let’s write a pop tune’ and experiment. And we wrote the Chipmunk track and I thought nothing of it. Naughty Boy sent it off to Chipmunk who really liked it and wrote his stuff around it.”

On why she changed her name from Adele Sandé to her middle name Emeli Sandé:

She spoke; “I changed it as soon as Adele came out. I just thought, ‘You’ve kind of taken the [name] now’, so I went with my middle name. She was just getting bigger and bigger, so I thought I just really need it.”

What’s success without someone to share it with?

In January 2012, Sandé confirmed that she is engaged to her  long-term boyfriend Adam – a scientist. They both prefer to keep their relationship private.

To listen to more of Sandé’s music, go to iTunes and check her out. This is one purchase you won’t regret. She’s an imcredible artist and with so much talent. Every now and then, I’m reminded of Beyonce when I hear her voice.

Take a listen below to a few of her songs and don’t forget to support her current album ‘Our Version of Events’  in stores/online now. This has been music spotlight: Emeli Sandé.

See Also: Music Spotlight – Stacy Francis

5 thoughts on “Music Spotlight: Emelie Sandé

  1. Pingback: Music Spotlight: Stacy Francis | I am KolorBlind®

  2. Pingback: Meet Emeli Sande – The Scottish Aretha Franklin | KolorBlind Mag

  3. Hola! I’ve been following your blog for some time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Huffman Texas! Just wanted to tell you keep up the great work!

  4. Greate pieces. Keep posting such kind of info on your blog.
    Im really impressed by it.
    Hi there, You’ve performed an excellent job. I’ll definitely digg it and individually recommend to my friends.
    I am sure they’ll be benefited from this
    website.

Have a comment? Enter it here...

