Weekly KolorBlind News 6/30/12: Halle Berry, Keesha Sharp, Garcelle Beauvais and more…

Halle Berry ordered to pay child support…

Four years ago on March 16, 2008 those in the KolorBlind community jumped for joy to hear that Halle Berry became a mother to Nahla Ariela Aubry. A joyful thing – yes. But it hasn’t been without a few heartbreaks. Halle separated from Nahla’s father not too long after and it’s been one ordeal to the other. From court appearances on who becomes Nahla’s primary care giver to the recent news on Halle being ordered to pay Gabriel Aubry a hefty monthly child support.

According to Huffington Post, a family court judge ordered the actress to pay Gabriel child support in the amount of $20,000 a month. In April Aubry filed legal documents asking a judge to force Berry to give him $15,000 to $20,000 a month for a proper home, so that the couple’s 4-year-old daughter, Nahla, would keep living in the surroundings to which she has become accustomed. TMZ reported that the Canadian model also demanded a long list of other things from Berry, including money for Nahla’s clothing, and funds so that he can take her home to Canada to visit his family.

The former couple, who split in February 2010, have been in and out of court for months battling over custody of Nahla, and they are due back in court again for a judge to decide whether Halle can take Nahla and move to Paris.

My heart goes out to Halle. What able bodied man requests money from a woman? The world is truly coming to an end. If this were not so, why would a man need money from a woman to take care of his own child? I always thought it was the father’s responsibility to take care of his children. I didn’t know times had changed drastically to where a man now depends on a woman to help him take care of his child financially. If you are a man out there and you are in a similar situation…all I can say is SHAME, SHAME, SHAME!

Keesha Sharp‘s photoshoot for Today’s Black Woman Style Report…

Yesterday, Keesha Sharp posted a photograph of a recent photoshoot she did for Today’s Black Woman. We know Keesha is one beautiful woman but she was giving us extra fierce in this one. Watch out Tyra Banks…this KolorBlind sister is giving you a run for your money.

Meet Garcelle Beauvais – People Magazine’s newest celebrity blogger…

Actress Garcelle Beauvais, 45, is not new to the world of KolorBlind. In she married Hollywood Agent Mike Nilos and in 2001 and 2007 welcomed her twin sons Jax Joseph and Jaid Thomas. In 2001, she and Mike divorced and Garcelle has been doing a wonderful job raising her twin sons.

Whenever we see them, they always look so happy and having fun. Recently (June ’12) Garcelle started blogging on People Magazine’s blog platform. We welcome you to the world of blogging and hope you enjoy sharing a little more of yourself with the world.

In one of her first blog posts she states:

Hey everyone, my name is Garcelle Beauvais. I am an actress, mom of three amazing boys — Oliver, Jax and Jaid — and now an author, but more on that later. 

Many of you may know me from my work on The Jamie Foxx Show and NYPD Blue. Currently, I’m starring on Franklin & Bash with Mark-Paul Gosselaar and Breckin Meyer.

As much as I love what I have accomplished so far as an actress, I have to say that being a mom— with all of its challenges and rewards — has been the best role of my life. Growing up, I was the youngest of seven children, so babies and kids have always been around me. My mom has 25 grandchildren — yep, 25.

always wanted to have kids, and when I dreamed about my future, I pictured having a boy first and then a girl — the perfect nuclear family. Well, we can’t always have it our way. But I have to say, I got really lucky!

I had my first son, Oliver, when I was very young. I was modeling in New York when I met his dad. We immediately fell in love and got married after only two months. Crazy, right?! Two years later, Oliver appeared on the scene. He was the best baby, so easy and happy. I took him everywhere with me — on photo shoots, on location, and he did so well on airplanes, too.

Oliver is now 21 years old and an up-and-coming rapper. (His stage name is Jayson Rose.)

Unfortunately, my first marriage didn’t work out. I thought that was the end of my baby days, but then I met Mike Nilon.

We fell in love and I wanted to have kids with him. Since I already had a child, I thought it would be a cinch. Boy, was I in for a surprise!

I learned the hard way that trying to have babies when you’re older is a whole different ball game. It took blood, sweat (both the good and bad kind!), lots of tears, and most importantly, fertility treatments. But I finally got pregnant. It was truly a miracle.

All I wanted was a healthy baby. That wish came true with an added bonus. Yep, I was expecting twins!

While I was pregnant, I couldn’t wait to meet my boys. Though I must admit that when the doctor first said he saw two penises on the ultrasound, I was a bit disappointed. I’m such a girly-girl, and I couldn’t believe I wasn’t getting a little mini-me! Now who would I give all of my designer shoes to?! Ha.

I was so excited for my sons. Because conceiving them had been so difficult, I was very nervousthroughout the pregnancy. I tried to stay positive and lots of prayers got me through!

Well, on Oct. 18, 2007, I had a c-section and got to meet my yummy boys, Jax and Jaid. I was so happy — I couldn’t believe they were truly ours. They were so cute I couldn’t stand it!

Even though they’re fraternal twins, I wondered if they would share a lot of similar personality traits. But from day one, they were differentJax came out screaming while Jaid came out looking both serious and curious about the world around him.

Seeing Oliver hold his tiny little siblings for the first time brought tears to my eyes. Jax has a love of music like his big brother, although my little guy prefers rock and roll to rap. Jaid loves to look at fishes and snuggle.

To this day, my happiest moments are when all three of my boys are with me hanging out at home. Even though they are a generation apart, they love each other so much.

My sons bring me such joy, even when they drive me nuts. I’m sure you can relate! Let’s face it:l ittle boys have lots of energy, and when you have two who are the same age at the same time, it means a lot of activity! That’s why I keep them busy with soccer, karate and swim lessons. 

Garcelle Beauvais feeds her Angry BirdsMy boys have also taught me a lot of about life. That’s why I’m so excited to tell you about the children’s book series I’m writing based on Jax and Jaid’s experiences as twins of mixed race who split their time between two homes. (Stay tuned!)

Thank you for reading, and I look forward to sharing more with you about my life with my boys. You can leave a comment below or catch me on Twitter @GarcelleB.

– Garcelle Beauvais (Source People Magazine.com)

We wish you nothing but continued happiness Garcelle. You’re doing a fine job raising those young men. It’s also hard to believe you have a 21 yr old. You look fab. Xo
That’s it for our Weekly KolorBlind News 6/30/12: Halle Berry, Keesha Sharp, Garcelle Beauvais and more… I hope you enjoyed reading it. The things reported in the news makes us aware of the things that occur in our environment and the world at large. Stay informed!
One thought on “Weekly KolorBlind News 6/30/12: Halle Berry, Keesha Sharp, Garcelle Beauvais and more…

  1. Pingback: KolorBlind News I heard…Matthew McConaughey and more « I am KolorBlind®

Have a comment? Enter it here...

