Racial Zoning: Where do we draw the line with interracial relationships?

Do you know what the KolorBlind motto is? I am KolorBlind…love beyond black and white. Do you know what that means? It simply means that interracial dating/marriage is not only between the Black and Caucasian race. There are only 3 major races recognized (I suggest you Google some of the terms below):

  • Mongolian (northern Mongolian, Chinese and Indo-Chinese, Japanese and Korean, Tibetan, Malayan, Polynesian, Maori, Micronesian, Eskimo, American Indian)
  • Negroid (African, Hottentots, Melanesians/Papua, “Negrito”, Australian Aborigine, Dravidians, Sinhalese)
  • Caucasian (Aryans, Hamites, Semites)

Source: Ethnographic division into races from Meyers Konversationslexikon of 1885-90

Although they are only 3 human races defined, there are over 180 different ethnicities in the world. Society views being KolorBlind (in an interracial relationship) differently. We constantly hear in the media that interracial dating is between a black man and white woman and more recently between a black woman and white man. However, racial zoning: where do we draw the line with interracial relationships? What should be regarded as interracial and what shouldn’t? Should we only consider relationships interracial if both parties are of a different skin tone?

Let’s consider a few scenarios:

Scenario 1: A man of Dravidian (Asia) ethnicity falls in love with a woman of African ethnicity (let’s say West Africa). In this scenario depending on the melanin of the Dravidian, their skin tone can be almost as dark as each other or different. People of Dravidian ethnicity are known to also have very dark skin tones. In this scenario, they are two different ethnicities and have different skin tones. They also represent two different continents and are culturally different, not to mention the facial features and language. Should this be considered an interracial relationship? I think so, but what do you think?

Scenario 2: A woman of Semite ethnicity falls in love with a man of Eskimo ethnicity. Although their skin tone is very similar, they are two different ethnicities, race, are culturally different, speak a different language and have different facial features. Should this be considered an interracial relationship?  I think so, but what do you think?

Scenario 3: A man of Indo-Chinese ethnicity falls in love with a woman of mixed Papua and Hamites (Negroid & Caucasian race) ethnicity. In this particular scenario their skin tone is going to be different and their facial features might be different. They both speak different languages and come from different cultures. Should this be considered an interracial relationship?

I could keep on creating a variety of scenarios, but I think you get the point I’m trying to make. I am just trying to paint a more realistic picture of interracial relationships. It goes beyond Black/Caucasian and Caucasian/Asian…there are too many ethnicities in the world to limit interracial dating/marriages to just two or three categories. Should society draw a line where interracial relationships are concerned or should we have a more open minded approach towards it? I am definitely of the opinion that    we should think outside the box where it concerns love and classifications. KolorBlind for me means opening my mind to different view points, ideas, cultures and accepting people for people.

This is one of the most thought provoking articles I’ve written. I don’t claim to be an expert on this topic, but I have given it a lot of thought. I am hoping to receive some insight into this topic that would help drive a follow up article.

10 thoughts on “Racial Zoning: Where do we draw the line with interracial relationships?

  1. Definitely enjoyed reading your reflections. I think you´re absoluetly right, there is a lot more going on in terms of ethnicities than we often acknowledge. My wife and I are of different ethnic (racial) groups and love that our son is the embodiment of our racial and cultural heritages.

    • I’m actually very curious about where in the bible it says white women are the most beautiful, after all, considering where it was written (Middle East), the people of that time were most likely brown-skinned and probably had never a white woman before.

    • I have always had a problem with interracial marriages on an instinctive level. At first glance it just seems odd and unnatural, but this is all on a very superficial level. Still, if I am honest, this is my initial reaction to interracial and homosexual relationships; double take. On a philosophical level, I don’t have any issue with interracial marriages, as long as it is between a man and a woman. I wanted to date several girls in college that were of other races, but I don’t recall any of them being more than a few dates. I wasn’t opposed to marrying outside of my race, but never was in a position where I had to think heavily about it. I’d love to read a follow up post about the panel after the fact.

    • I love your perspective on everything! I am also bi-racial and I think it adds a little more fuel to peoples judgement when they see that I am darker than my mother(who is also mixed). Just like you, I try not to let what other people say or do affect how I see myself.

  2. Fortunately, our younger generations are growing up more colorblind than ever before. I know that racism is a hard thing to erase but I truly believe that slowly but surely we will see a day when children don’t think about color. I certainly don’t judge anyone by the color of their skin, I take the time out to get to know them as a person first, and I know many people do. With that in mind, I can only imagine what the future hold and how generations will interact with one another.

  3. I am white and my husband is Mexican and we have been married for almost four years now. I see nothing wrong with an interracial marriage. We had a lot of support when we were married but there were also those who criticized us for being interracial. I never really noticed when people stared at us at the store or at church functions, but my husband does. I have also been with my husband when a complete stranger would call him a foul name right to his face just for being Mexican. I don’t see what the big deal is about interracial marriages, people are people, no matter what color they are. My husband treats me very well and is a very good man, and that is all that matters. Both partners in an interracial relationship have to be willing to come halfway on certain cultural differences though, or basically to agree to disagree.

  4. I don’t understand why you’ve chosen those pictures – they don’t correlate with the text. For example, Shahid Kapoor is not Chinese whatsoever.

  5. What does he means there are only 3 human races defined????? I know that we have different color tones but I always thought that we are only ONE HUMAN RACE!!!!!

Have a comment? Enter it here...

